Sign in to follow this  

Just had to say it (06 CRF 250X)

Last weekend, I had a chance to try a CRF 250X for about 10 minutes in the NE woods. I am a 46 yo veteran of dirt bikes and did some enduro racing up until 5 years ago. Raced and rode a lot of KTM's from all the way to 1978 (in Europe at the time). I have had WR 250, KDX, KTM's 200, 250 and 380 (that bike kicked my arse, by the way) and so on.

Needles to say, I think the CRF 250X is the BEST off road bike for technical NE riding.....period !. Beats any KTM' WR's and so on.

So yesterday I bought and picked up an 06 CRF 250X !!!!! :D

Let the mods fever begin :D

Now I still have my 05 DRZ 400S........Street legal but what a pig. It is all setup for woods riding and overall is an excellent DS bike, but you only go at C speed. Try to be a B and the bike just does not remain safe. On the CRF, I am just flying like many years ago (just can't do it for hours anymore :D )

Honda built a winner here. By far. At B speeds, the bike is so flickable it will literally go around rocks and stumps just from looking at them...amazing.

A fine piece of woods machinery.

When am I going to ride that DRZ ?...not often :eek:

Phil

It is an awesome instrument for NE woods. :D Enjoy your new ride. Better throw on those rad/skid guards. IMO go w/ flatland.

Another 06? I just got my 05 last month. Should I have waited? Like Smoker said, go with the Flatland guards. The skid plate just slips on. The radiator guards look like they really protect. Do youself a favor and get 3/8" nylon spacers for the lower shroud bolt. It will make the re-assembly much less painfull.

Can we start to call Connecticut the CRF250X state? With the tight stuff and rocks I ride, it is awsome.

Can we start to call Connecticut the CRF250X state? With the tight stuff and rocks I ride, it is awsome.

I think X's are plentiful in most East Coast States. I actually know more people (7) in NJ with them.

Can someone please clarify this 06 X thing for me.