Valve Clearance Questions.

Hey guys (and gals),

I'm new to the whole 4-stroke scene; just sold my YZ125 and picked up a '02 YZ250F. Ridden it a couple of times and it starts and runs great. However, I wasn't real sure how much maintenance was done on it previously (had multiple previous owners) so I wanted to pull it apart, replace the piston, rings, cam chain, and check the valves. So I pulled it apart last night and I've got some questions for all of you pro's. At TDC (or punch mark on cam's inline with horizontal edge of the head) my valve clearances seem really tight. The smallest feeler gauge I have is a .008", and it is too large to fit in any of the exhaust of intake valves! .008" is approximately .20mm. So questions #1, and #2: Do I need to get some feelers that are smaller than the .008"?? If the .008" doesn't fit, then they are all too tight, correct?

I pulled a valve bucket and looked at the shim. There are no numbers on them (I suspect maybe they have worn off??) Checked it with a micrometer and it is .078", or 1.98 mm. So, does that mean it's approx. a 198 (or 195, or 200) shim? Is that how that works??

So here's what I think I need to do.... get some feeler gauges that go below .008", find the correct valve clearance, measure all the shims, use the chart in my manual, and get new shims. Is this all correct??

Also, I guess I don't understand how the valve clearances actually tighten up. I can understand why they would loosen (with the wearing of the valves), but I don't get why they tighten. Anyone care to explain??

Thanks in advance to any help...

The spec is .10-.15 MM on the intakes and .15-.20 MM on the exhaust. In inches, this is .004-.006" and .006-.008. My exhaust valves are a bit on the tight side as well. I figure that's due to carbon build up between the valve and the seat.