Why are 4-Strokes Hard to Start??

First of all, I'm a newbie and I'd like to say Hi to everyone on the board. I've been reading this board for a long time now and figured it's finally time to register. Being an original 2-stroke guy, I'm not that educated on the 4-stroke technology, but my next bike WILL be a 4-stroke, and I want to learn about them before I make my purchase.

Anyway, on to the question.. Why are the 4-stroke engines so hard to start? And why are they even harder to start when they're hot? I understand they have very high compression, but figured that would only cause trouble in kicking them over, not how they actually start.

it's mostly high compression but most of the modern 4-strokes have decompression things.

If I choose to kick it mine starts in 1 or 2 kicks hot or cold

Why is it so hard for it to catch though? And why is it harder when the engine is hot? Anyone have a technical explanation for this?

its not that hard after you ride the bike for a while and get used to what it needs to start it...like mine when its hot i don't give it any gas and 1 or 2 kicks gets it going, and for a cold engine i just hold the throttle 1/2 open and kick it with no choke and that takes about 2 or 3 kicks. but when i start someone else's bike it takes a while to find out what it needs. i hope that helped

First of all WELCOME SHIFT23. A four stroke has much higher compresstion which doesn't allow for brisk kick throughs. Its kind of like a ritual that becomes easy if you know what to do. Every four stroke old and new that I have started require that the rider do the following.

1. do regular stuff (turn gas on, choke it Ect)

2. slowly turn kickstarter a couple times until you get a hard resistance, this is when the piston is at top dead center.

3 When the piston is at tdc bring the kickstarter all the way back to the top and give one hell of a mighty kick. Most four strokes will fire right up

Hope you have a good time here on thumpertalk!!