Twitchy......

Since I am new to riding KTMs', could some one tell me if the front end is notoriously twitchy? Seemed like it was fine until I got it broke in, Now if I end up going the right direction it seems to be about half luck.... I know I need stiffer springs and that will help...Just wondering what you folks know about twitchy steering.

I just switched from a WR to an exc 400 and I found the same thing. The bars get ripped out of my hands all the time and sometimes when you're going pretty good (3rd or 4th gear) it feels like the front end is not even there. The local guy's I know all have steering dampers and all had their forks either revalved or the springs changed or both. I haven't done mine yet, but plan to in the near future.

M

I had the same problem with mine. I raised the forks 9mm. did not revalve or change springs I like the stock susp. What made the biggest difference was setting up the rear end.Iam 220lb. with gear on. I changed the rear spring for my weight.It worked wonders.If you have never ridden a KTM before they are much different than a Jap bike. When riding standing on the pegs your chin should be over the handlebars. When sitting down you should be as far forward as possible.Also the bike handles much better when you are standing.It lets the susp. work

------------------

TWIST&SHOUT

I had the same twitchy problem with my 01 520EXC. Too much headshake. So I lowered the suspension in the triple clamps to where only about 1 mm is shown between the caps and the triple clamps. I also switched to 7 weight oil and raised the level by about 10 mm from stock. In the back I've tightened the shock adj ring two full turns. I weigh about 230 with gear so this is working for the present but might be altered as I get more time on the bike. I've toyed with the idea of going back to 5 weight in the front with a higher level and will probably try that next fork oil change.

Later,

Concho