1\4 mile drags

Never would have thought of this on my own, but now I can't stop thinking about it. A friend of mine called me Sunday night to tell me he had his 520EXC out at the drag strip! I didn't know you could do that!

He said it ran a 14.1 at 94 mph with stock knobbies(sounds slippery to me). He has never raced before and freely admits he could have done way better with some experience. I have limited experience with racing to but I bet 13's would not be a problem and 12's with some setup. Guess I am just wondering If anybody else has tried this? probably not.

I don't think slipping is a problem with these bikes on any type of pavement. Keeping the front wheel down is the issue due to the high CG. I suppose slicks would be slightly more effecient than knobs so maybe a slight gain there - but mostly I think technique to keep the perfect balance of power vs wheelie. My limited mock drag race experience (on a straight piece of backroad pavement) with my stock 520exc has been that in third gear acceleration is still limited by a wheelie and sometimes even in 4th.

Interesting to see that he got 94 mph. I remember seeing a KTM 620 dual sport tested in Cycle world (with good drag race riders I would assume) at just over 100 mph and I thought that was impressive - kind of surprized that the 520 is that close on top.

Mathew

This is also a topic I have wondered about to myself. Especially when I pull up at the lights next to a hotted up car.

I think you would have to change the gearing. I know my 520 will hit top speed way before 400 metres. I have been in cars that cut a 13 second quarter, and my bike goes way harder than that car.

So, what is everyone’s thought on the following.

Time for 0-60mhp

Possible quarter time, without to many modifications.

I think it could hit 60mph in about 4.5 seconds and the best quarter would be around 12.5 seconds.

This is my totally un-educated guess.

It doesn’t make much difference at the end of the day, just interesting.