Sign in to follow this  

Just installed the 520 electric fan!! cool!!

Hi Dr.s,

I ordered my fan last week and it should be here tomorrow. Any tips on the install, or should it just bolt on?

Thanks!

Crash

Originally posted by Dr.s:

That fan is awesome!!! When I ride with my wife on her xr100, my 520EXC wont overheat anymore.

Originally posted by Dr.s:

my 520EXC wont overheat anymore.

I'm new to KTM's and don't have my manuals yet. How do you know when the bike has overheated? My wife and daughter are on small bikes, so I'll be doing a fair amount of slow riding.

Dr.s,

Was your bike overheating when riding with your wife? What year is your 520?

I've never overheated my bike and I've ridden some LONG slow trailrides with my wife, worked on trails, etc. I guess we don't see a lot of hot days up here but we had our share of hot days up here this summer. All my KTM 2 strokes overheated a bit almost every ride so I've been very happy with the 400. It's never used a drop from overheating.

------------------

John Brunsgaard

jejb@att.net

01 400 EXC, 99 250 EXC (gone), 99 200 EXC, 98 125 EXC, 98 380 MXC (long gone)

just because it's not spitting fluid

doesn't mean it's running as cool as it should. The nice part about the fan is that with it "I believe" the motor will last longer because it is running cooler. The fan kicks on at 185 degs. You won't boil over (depending on your set-up) till 230+. Just like an auto trans the cooler you can keep it the longer it will last. my 02

------------------

TBob

"01" KTM 520 EXC

Mesa, AZ

The cooling fan does work, worked so well on my 520 that it ran down the battery. At least it starts easy with the kick starter, but I'm spoiled.

For the next ride I wired an on-off switch into the line to the fan so I could control when it ran. Every time I switched it on, it would run continuously. The fan and switch are now back in the box.

[This message has been edited by John (edited October 15, 2001).]