Sign in to follow this  

New 520 MXC

I'm picking up a new 02 520 MXC next weekend. I've been on a 250 2s forever. Any Any advice on the big girl or KTM's in general? I would really appreciate any help on things to look out for or set up tips. I don't know anyone with one or have any experience with the brand. I am an offroad expert and a moto wannabe. Mainly ride tight technical desert but still enjoy opening it up when there's room. This scoot seems to be very versatile and hopefully worth the big coin.

congrats. i got my 02 520mxc a couple of months ago and do not regret it. previously on a war horse of an xr600r. i'm also an off roader but like an occasional trip to the track. here are some of my experiences to date.

1. very versatile bike! can ride both desert and tracks with confidence. tank is a little wide for the tracks and have an exc tank on order for this purpose. a little twitchy at speed in the desert. a scotts is a must.

2. oil changes a bit tedious at first, but, well worth it.

3. shifting a bit notchy, often find neutral when looking for second. am getting better at this though.

4. chain looks loose, and it should.

5. clutch makes noise at idle when not engaged and it should.

6. oil weeps from bolts near oil window. it shouldn't but it does. can fix with yamabond.

7. are far as prep is concerned i took bike apart little by little greasing each bolt and tightened to spec. his is not uniqe to ktm's or necessarily required. i'm just anal.

8. first valve adjustment schedualed for monday.

will keep you posted

jason

Thanks! Items you have mentioned are all I have heard about except the oil window leak. How do you feel about the "EURO" handling. I have read so much about the need for 18 or even 16 mm clamps to get her to turn. I am not against getting a set but really wonder. I don't want the tank either. I rode/raced a 94 KX 250 with that style IMS tank and hated it. Sure appreciate the feedback.