Sign in to follow this  

removing the water pump - 2005 TE-510

page F8 of the shop manual shows a picture and it seems simple but it adds a sentence about removing the timing driven gear behind the pump in the motor top end compartment and it shows a hand holding the gear as you slide out the pump body........this part worries me. i was hoping to remove the pump and disassembled it to examine the impeller, even though impeller damage is not on the list of suspect issues casuing over heating, this summer my bike has over heated some under stress and well being a mechanical engineer I want to check that impeller...but not if by sliding the pump shaft out it will cause that timing gear to move and screw me up.

so can i just remove the pump body and shaft out and then slide it back in the hole?

page F8 of the shop manual shows a picture and it seems simple but it adds a sentence about removing the timing driven gear behind the pump in the motor top end compartment and it shows a hand holding the gear as you slide out the pump body........this part worries me. i was hoping to remove the pump and disassembled it to examine the impeller, even though impeller damage is not on the list of suspect issues casuing over heating, this summer my bike has over heated some under stress and well being a mechanical engineer I want to check that impeller...but not if by sliding the pump shaft out it will cause that timing gear to move and screw me up.

so can i just remove the pump body and shaft out and then slide it back in the hole?

The easy answer is no.

The water pump shaft is the axle for the idler gear that carries the cam chain. It's not hard to pull the cams out with the motor in the frame, then you can take out the water pump. I did this last week in about 30 minutes.