Sign in to follow this  

XR650L FCR jetting

I have a 99 XR650L. I had it bored out and a 102mm 10.5/1 piston put in. I also had a hot cam slotted and degreed in. I had a full white brothers e-series set up put on header wraped and all. Ported, and some valve work done to increase performance. I bought a Keihin FCR 41mm carb and am having a hard time gettting it dialed in. Does anyone out there have a XR650L that is highly modified that is currently running this carb, if so can you give me an idea of where to start from(jetting, clip position, ect.).

The needle is what ever comes in them stock with the clip in the middle and I am not sure what the jetting is at this point. I have changed it so many times after each mod trying to get it right. I think right now it is some where around 168 main 52 pilot. But I am not sure.

I am jumping in on this one

I have most of the same mods on my "XR675L" as you.

I have been fighting my FCR for a couple of months now.

Here is what I have carb wise

Needle OCEMR (or is it OCMER?)

Main 170

pilot/slow 48 to 65

& JD needles with a 180 main

And I have tried every combo of needle clip position and slow jet size along with adjusting the air screw.

My prob has been that I cannot for the life of me get the thing to idle well. It always seems to stumble & die. I have heard this called "flameout". I have been trying everything & talking to everyone for thoughts. Some have said it's lean some rich try this or that. nothing has cured it.

All I know is that with the blue JD needle clip in the 2-4 position 180 main and the 65 slow jet the thing pulls in the mid range & upper range awesome!

I loved it, it ripped (if an XR650L can rip)...