Sign in to follow this  

Need helping balancing suspension

I am having trouble setting up my suspension. The problem was the bike wouldn't stay in a rut. I am "5"'10" AND I weigh 135. My fork springs are .42 and the shock spring is 4.5. And I am a fast beginner. So here are the settings I came up so my bike will stay in a rut:

1. Sag at 93mm

2. fork compression at 14 clicks out

3. fork rebound 9 clicks out

4. High speed compression on shock 1.5 turns out

5. Shock rebound is at the stock setting 10 clicks out

6.Shock low speed suspension is the stock setting at I think 7 clicks out .

7. fork oil level at I think 130-140mm and the bike is within 1/4 to 1/2 of a inch to bottoming.

8. Forks 8mm up in tripple clamp.

But with that setup my bike turns perfect in a rut and I didn't get any headshake at all. But now the problem is if the turn is flat the back end justs slides around and like squares off the turn even though I don't want to. My rear tire is a Michelin MS3. So how can I can I make my rear hook up while having enough weight on the front?

You didn't mention tire psi. Try a little bit lower. Not to low for the terrain . In the turn load the outside footpeg (ass 1/2" off the seat)while getting far forward and gasing it. Remember the gas control is all in your clutch finger. Now that you feel the bite lean back (not slide back) and lift the bars . :banghead:

I started the day off at either 10.5 or 11.5 PSI but I forgot to check it during the day. And the terrain was intermediate.

Will to much rear compression not cause the rear tire to hook up well?

riding ruts is also a timing thing, when your on the front brake coming into the turn you dont want to realise the front brake until your are ready to accelerate,

its best to gentley realise the front brake as your body weight moves forward and down on the seat/tank so as keep the front end springing back up, this will toss you out of the rut.