Sign in to follow this  

Dry Sump?????

Hello can someone tell me what a dry sump motor is and what advantages it has. i am new to yamaha so i dont know what this is but i know they use them in cars like the mclaren to lower center of gravity. thanks :banghead:

Hello can someone tell me what a dry sump motor is and what advantages it has. i am new to yamaha so i dont know what this is but i know they use them in cars like the mclaren to lower center of gravity. thanks :banghead:

You pretty much answered your own question. To save weight and lower the center of gravity.

Dry sump oiling has several advantages. First, let's look at what it is. Wet sumps, like road cars and most Japanese motorcycles, carry the oil in a reservoir built into the crankcases or bolted onto the bottom of them. They have one oil pump that picks up oil from this sump and circulates it. Once it runs out of the various lube points, it simply drains back by gravity to the sump, where it starts over.

A dry sump carries its oil in a separate reservoir, or tank, located wherever it's convenient. The feed oil pump draws oil from the tank and circulates it the same way as in the wet sump, but when the oil drains to the sump, a second, higher volume return, or scavenging, pump picks it up and returns it to the reservoir. The return pump is a higher volume so that it will "outrun" the feed pump.