Sign in to follow this  

hanging idle-- ughh

ok.. so I've read the other posts. had a bad idle problem.. took it in and they adjusted valves, and cleaned out the carb - apparently i had shoved a new fuel air screw in (after the old one fell out) w/o realizing the old spring and o-ring were still in there.

I guess it still hung for a bit. so the mechanic unplugged the tps and the problem went away..

great but is this a band aid to a larger problem?

Huh? :banghead::applause:🤣🤣

If you are wondering if having 2 sets of springs & o-rings did any damage I would think not.

If you are asking about a hanging idle usually it's due to being too lean.

How does the bike run now?

Bear in mind, I'm no expert here (my obligatory disclaimer), but the TPS should have nothing to do with how a properly jetted bike idles. I have never disconnected the TPS on my 03' WR250f and it idles perfectly. (For the record, I have disabled the air cut valve and changed to a #100 pilot air jet as per yzf spec). But as Bkinzey indicated, a hanging idle problem is usually indicative of a lean condition. Try turning your fuel screw out a quarter turn at a time and see if this alieviates the problem. If you get to 2-1/2 turns out and the problem persists, then try increasing your pilot jet to the next size. Start with the fuel screw set at about 3/4 of a turn out from fully seated, and begin the process over again.

The TPS is used to tell the CDI unit where the throttle is so that it can map the timing based on a combination of RPM and throttle position for more accuracy. When you disconnect it, the system can no longer function as designed, and substitutes a full throttle value in place of actual information from the TPS, reverting to an RPM only, two dimensional ignition map.