Sign in to follow this  

Help settle an argument

Ok, my GF is in great shape, a marathon runner and a weight lifter. She has very strong feeling about me staying in shape as well, I'm 45 and am in better shape than I've ever been. I run three miles evey other day and lift weights in between. On the wk/nds that I ride I skip one or even two days running and figure four or five hours riding hard in the woods is easily an equivalent, she disagrees. So what's the concencous here, I say riding is as much cardiovascular as running if not way more.

PUt her on a bike and see if she has the endurance to ride as long as you do! :banghead::banghead:

Ride on

Brewster

Before I started riding I felt the same way your GF does now. My husband would always brag about how physical it was to ride but there was no convincing me. :banghead: All I saw was someone sitting down and putzin around, now I know the truth. Only experiencing it will show her the light.

She will never know until you get her on a bike. The misconception is widespread among the non-riding population.

Anything that gets your heart rate up for an extendend amount of time counts. I workout religously during the weekdays, and go for a ride on the weekends. I find myself more tired after my ride, then after one of my normal intense workouts.

I ran for a couple weeks in the spring, not riding my bike at all.

Then I switched to just riding motocross, no running at all for a couple weeks.

Well after a couple of weeks of motocross riding, I went back to running (as

time permitted) and absolutely could not believe how my fitness had improved ONLY from riding... I ran so much farther than previously it was ridiculous, and it

was practically effortless. Right then, I was convinced, there's

NOTHING like seat time to get you in excellent shape.