Sign in to follow this  

How to take Head off my 50

Hey guys, i'm a newb at workin on my 50. I need a little bit of info here. I've been workin on Honda "Car" engine for years now so i'm mechanicly knowlagable to do this.. just need a few tips.

Heres the story. I purchased the 2004 CRF-50 new from dealer, It ran great & still does.. problem is that i was a little abusive to it & seem to have stripped out 1st & 2nd gear. I've got the motor out & have begun to get this thing apart, looks like i have to get the head off to split the case to find my broken peices of what i'll have to get replacments from my dealer.. Question is, i can't seem to figure out the trick as to how to get the head off.

Any help from those of you that have some experience in this would be an awsome help. Thanks in advance for any helpful info givin here.

Tony

Locate cam cover, on the opposite side of the head is a 10mm bolt, remove. This will release the cam cover exposing the cam sprocket and chain

Underside of the motor, two 14mm bolts, one angled into the base, one level. Remove the one sitting at an angle. It has a spring and small piston behind it, remove them.

The cam chain tensioner is now disabled, remove the two 9mm bolts from the cam sprocket, and remove the sprocket itself.

There is a 10mm bolt, cam chain side, connecting the head to the cylinder, remove it.

Remove the 4 10mm stud bolts, noting which one has the copper washer underneath.

Remove the rocker cover.

Slide the head off, watching for a small oring to drop, note where it came from.

Remove the 10mm bolt tying the cylinder to the crankcase.

Remove the cylinder, again watching for orings.

ok, i don't see the 14mm bolts that you are talking about on the bottom. I've taken a couple pix to show where i'm at, hopfully this will help you help me!

I've got the top 4 bolts (10mm) off & that seems to have released the head to the point that the only thing holding it back is the timing chain.