Sign in to follow this  

New to the board...have TTR125 questions

Great board with tons of great info.

After many years of not having a motorcycle, I finally jumped back in. A friend of a friend had an older (1995) CR 250R that I essentially stole from him for $650. It is in excellent condition for it's age (other than ugly ass plastic), with a very strong engine with great compression.

Anyhow I after I started riding again, my fiancee decided she wanted her first bike. While a new bike was pretty much out of the question, I started looking for a good used value...which is much more difficult than it used to be. Imagine my surprise when driving down the road earlier this week, I saw a sign for a Yamaha TTR125. I checked it out and it turned out to be a very clean, small-wheeled version...2000 model. Ended up negotiating it down to $925 which I think was a good deal...am I correct in this assumption?

She is now the very proud owner of this bike. She is 27, about 5' 3"-4" and weighs around 130. Since this is her first bike, it is a pretty good size for her and she feels very comfortable on it since it sits pretty low. However, I think that once she learns all the basic riding skills, she will want something slightly bigger. Herein lies my question. Are there any suspension or geometry differences between the standard 125 and the 125 L? I searched the board but can't say that I saw this specifically addressed. In the FAQs I read something that I thought answered the question but can someone please verify that the larger L-version wheels and tires will fit the standard TTR125 bike without further mods?

Thanks in advance.

yeah after a while she will most likely want somethign with a little more boom-boom..iv had my 2003 ttr 125l for like 3 years now and just put a bbk on it this year and i still have a blast on it...but hopefully ill be getin a 06 yz250f this sping or when it starts getin warmer :banghead: she'll have a blast while it lasts :banghead: