Sign in to follow this  

CRF450 springs in a CRF250X

I am considering doing this based on what everyone has reported and what the spring calculators say I need. I am 230 lbs and ride woods and rocks in New England. I am a 46 year old vet rider, fairly agressive. The stock 250X has not treated me all that bad, except the sag is at 6". Sometimes I think the forks are too stiff.

I found a local 450 owner to do a spring swap with, but today I called a local suspension shop in MASS, and he told me I'm nuts, the stock suspension is fine for me. He is 210 and ridden 250X's and the stock springs are fine, just adjust the preload a little more.

The answer is probably somewhere in between. Stock is probably too soft, and the CRF450 springs may be too stiff, especially the forks The only way to find out is to swap them, but if I don't like them after the swap, I'm stuck with too stiff and will have to buy new (did I say that) or find another swap.

Not looking for a lot of down time, what to do?

The fork springs from a 450 will help, but the shock spring is too light. I would reccomend a 5.8kg/mm rear spring, atleast ,maybe even a 6.0. Get an accurate weight with all your riding gear on.

Take Care, John

I am considering doing this based on what everyone has reported and what the spring calculators say I need. I am 230 lbs and ride woods and rocks in New England. I am a 46 year old vet rider, fairly agressive. The stock 250X has not treated me all that bad, except the sag is at 6". Sometimes I think the forks are too stiff.

I found a local 450 owner to do a spring swap with, but today I called a local suspension shop in MASS, and he told me I'm nuts, the stock suspension is fine for me. He is 210 and ridden 250X's and the stock springs are fine, just adjust the preload a little more.