Sign in to follow this  

market for CR/XR frame cradle and motor mounts

Just wondering what the need would be for prefabbed engine cradle and motor mounts for the conversion. I have a guy that whants me to build just the cradle and motor mounts. I would go out and buy a tubing bender if enough people wanted this. The 2 lower tubes would be prewelded to the square down tube so that all one would have to do is cut the cr frame out at a certain point and weld this cradle in. Let me know what you think,

Jeff

Cool.

But then what about the other 95% of the things needed to complete a conversion?

Beings I'm a welder without a tubing bender this type setup might work well. I see one of your kid's bike is a XR145 in a CR frame. Is this the kitaco SE 145 kit? If it is, how has the reliability been?. Thanks

Cool.

But then what about the other 95% of the things needed to complete a conversion?

Just trying to get a feel for whats needed. Most people like to do the welding but dont have access to a bender and some of the higher dollar tools. You sound like someone who would rather buy a complete bike already done up. Nothing wrong with that either.

There's just a lot more to it than the cradle section. There's a manifold and airbox issue, a right down tube issue, carb to air boot issue, pipe, motorbox, and center support. Even if you get a pre-made cradle, there's still a lot of hours of work to go. I know Dave Miller has a jig for everything and it's still about 25-30 hours or more.

There's just a lot more to it than the cradle section. There's a manifold and airbox issue, a right down tube issue, carb to air boot issue, pipe, motorbox, and center support. Even if you get a pre-made cradle, there's still a lot of hours of work to go. I know Dave Miller has a jig for everything and it's still about 25-30 hours or more.

Socal,