Sign in to follow this  

Which bike is best for trail riding?

Hello All,

I am relatively new to the TT Forum but I need some help. I bought a '96 CR 125 last yr to kinda test the waters and see if I like off Road riding after 13 yrs of street riding. I came to the conclusion that I do but discovered that the CR is not best suited for the types of riding I have been or will be doing.

So I need some advice.... What is a good bike to get for Back Woods, Power Line and SingleTrack Trail riding? What are the pros/cons of 4stroke VS 2Stroke?

Also what are the pros/cons of Elec Start? I have a 28-29" inseam so it is sometimes awkward to kick start my bike so I am considering looking for something with an Elec Start.

Thanks for all your help,

Steve

welcome to TT steve

2 strokes are good, but not suited to hillclimbs as well as the 4 strokes, 2 strokes u have to be on the power to get any where, 4 strokes u can put along at any revs, dump it and be on the back wheel in no time

2 strokes = no elec start

4 strokes = elec start:)

there is a few issues with the elec start with the yammy's and KTM, but as far as i know these problems have been fixed,they were stripping start gears, the ktm's were kicking back on stopping the engine and in turn ripping teeth from the start gear.

just about all four strokes in aus can be registered, 2 strokes only a few!

2 stroke u goto mix oil and with the price of fuel it adds up with oil aswell and they chew more fuel, four stroke u just ride up to the pump and fill up, in my opinion four strokes are easier to ride, and get the power to the ground alot more than a 2 stroke

4 strokes have even power 2 strokes are a switch, on or off! unlees you get a 500...2 strokes are a dieing breed , 4 strokes are really peeking right now and matching the 2's for power and handling, although some might dissagree.

if you havn't riden a new four stroke bike i would recomend you do so, youl love it!