Sign in to follow this  

12 tooth front sprocket

It binds up the chain and causes premature wear. If you like shifting a lot more. It's like adding 4 teeth to the back. Overkill in most cases.

It binds up the chain and causes premature wear. If you like shifting a lot more. It's like adding 4 teeth to the back. Overkill in most cases.

It does not causes premature wear IMO, do you have any proof gmoss? If not don't spread rumors that may not be true IMO. :banghead:

I've been running the 12T CS for 3 years (so have many others on here), over 1000 miles on the stock o-ring chain, no problem on wear with the chain or guide other than some minimal normal stuff - you're talking about 1/2 a tooth difference since it's only pulling from the top half of the CS and when you put your weight on the bike, there is NO binding on the swingarm chain guard, confirm it yourself.

It's personal preference about the shifting, but for the WR's gearbox it does well in the tight woods and helps with the low end with quicker snaps to get over logs etc. For a YZF, since it's a tighter gearbox, the 12T CS may not be ideal since you'll lose a bit of top end and will have to shift faster than a WR in 4th & 5th. It's a cheap mod, about $7-$10 for a steel 12T CS, give it a go and see if it works for you. I like it for my WR, not so sure if I will use it for my upcoming YZF though, the gearbox is probably too short - I got the 50T rear spocket to try for the woods stuff instead.