Sign in to follow this  

Should I go green?

Thats pretty much the question. I have seen it and I love the way it looks. But I am coming off a 2005 YZ250F... and ugly as it may be in comparison, the valves have never moved. And its like a tank. You might wonder why I want a new bike already when I am lowly C rider??? Simple. Economics aside, I am getting married next year. And building a house. I only have mere months left with "my own money." So I need something now, and preferably something that will last. I notice a high compression and only four valves. That scares me. I ride about 40 hours per year of moto. I am C, but I am okay, so I am not a beginner either. Will a KXF last me two years without new pistons or valves based on those numbers? Or moreover, has yours? I am meticulous about air filters and oil too, so consider that.

The YZF has proven itself to be the most reliable 250 thumper and the new 06 is really cool looking in yellow / black colors.

Go YZF for 06 inless you want to be checking valves every 2 rides, and shimming and replacing them. They will not last two years, mine lasted 6 months, barely got to ride this season working on mine so much, same with my friend. I just rebuilt the head and I want the bike gone.

Well for a different view, the KXF chassis and motor (As a package) are much more modern than the YZF. The YZF basic engine design is effectively from 1998 now.

The KXF is very reliable when treated well. I did a valve job on mine and had the seats cut in a proper SERDI machine at 5 angles and with stock valves they havent moved in a year, ie they dont wear out with a good valve job.

As for the valves....................my 04 hasn't moved at all.

Let's hope my 06KX fairs just as well.

Cheers

Joe