Sign in to follow this  

Military/ Public Service personnel

How many military riders or service personnel(police, fire, etc) here ride? What is the service's perspective on such activity? In reference to injury etc.

Active Duty Army here. I'm stationed in Korea so not allowed to ride (or even ride around in a personally owned vehicle for that matter).

Most commanders are supportive of riding (or any sport) that their soldiers participate in and as long as the soldier took active measures to guard against (riding gear, sober, etc) injury, then their would not likely not be any administrative aciton taken.

But of course, ANY injury stemming from personal negligence is subject to punishment for damage of government property. But it rarely happens.

I'm a Critical Care Flight Paramedic, I've been with my present employer for almost 8 years. I've been a Paramedic since I was 20. I'm 38 now and have ridden/owned bikes since I was 7. To this day, I consider bikes to be a major part of my life, because they are.

A couple of years ago I began racing MX again after a 13 year lay off. A few months into my return, I had a foot slip off the peg going through the whoops at speed. It slammed into the face of a whoop and whamo! I had a crushed tibial plateau (where the femur meets the lower leg behind the knee cap).

I was out of work for 5 months. A 10 hour surgery, 3 months on crutches and 2 more difficult months of rehab. I came back to full duty when ice was on the ground and never missed a beat.

Last year, I broke my collar bone in one of the last races of the season. I had to take about 2 weeks off. I came back to work early and worked through alot of pain. We were really short staffed.