Sign in to follow this  

Just got a 2006 dr-z400 dual sport. few things..

This is my first bike ever and I have a few questions. First, what possibilities are there for storage minus me carrying a backpack? Someone at the dealership said throw a saddle bag on there and hope it doesn't hit the pipe. What saddle bags have people used in the past that work? Secondly, does anyone make a tachometer for the thing? What is the longest trip anyone has taken on theirs on the road? Is it really that uncomfortable for long trips. Being a college student, i envisioned myself driving the thing into canada from NYC and putzing around up there. Seemed like fun... Anything i should look for being on the highway with it for so long??

Personally, I use a backpack when I ride day trips. I pack light, so the weight up high on my back isn't a problem. The stock seat is horrible for long trips. You probably won't want to go over 100 miles on it. I bought the Corbin seat for mine. It was worth the $250. Now, I can do 300-500 miles in a day. I don't have a tach, the DRZ'a CDI implements a rev limiter. You don't really need a tack.

This is my first bike ever and I have a few questions. First, what possibilities are there for storage minus me carrying a backpack? Someone at the dealership said throw a saddle bag on there and hope it doesn't hit the pipe. What saddle bags have people used in the past that work? Secondly, does anyone make a tachometer for the thing? What is the longest trip anyone has taken on theirs on the road? Is it really that uncomfortable for long trips. Being a college student, i envisioned myself driving the thing into canada from NYC and putzing around up there. Seemed like fun... Anything i should look for being on the highway with it for so long??