Sign in to follow this  

Yamaha Riders I Need Your Help! Honda Rider Converted to Yamaha

So coming from a P.O.S 2004 Honda CRF250R 🤣 and having a short spurt of wanting a 2 -stroke again (shivvers) for some 🤣🤣:busted: reason.

But now seeing the light have decided Yamaha is reliable,good build quality and thus Yamaha is the future :busted:

Either way I am looking to purchase a used 2004 model...

I obviously want to buy a good one which isn't going to have any major problems i.e engine grenading and costing £££ in repair.

So, What things should I look for? What questios do I ask? Is there any way to tell a good or bad one? I mean I like a good looking bike but I'm not a sucker since i am a motorcycle technician and since I've been a memeber of TT it's taught me things I would never even dream of. So what's the deal?

What kind of service intervals? I know the engines are good for years with good maintaince. I'm used to changing oil & oil filters :busted: since I used to own a you know what :banghead: . Valves inspections, what kind of intervals are you doing these at? I know these things aren't requiring valves etc, but what about pistons? obviously all these intervals are measured in hours.

Thanks again

Thanks Regards (I'm so excited I'm getting a Yamaha :banghead: )

Honda0001

hey I am in the same boat as you.. I have gone from a suzuki smoker to yamaha :banghead:.. I have just purchased a 2005 yz250f which will be here in 3 or 4 days now.. I am not to shore on the maintance side at the moment but thank god that you have been converted haha.

My '01 went almost 400 hours on it's first set of valves and rings, and the piston is still in there. The bore was perfect.

The oil should be changed every ten hours or less, and a conscientious owner will change or clean the filter at that same time. Otherwise, the air filter should be serviced anywhere from each ride to ten hours, depending on the dust conditions. Ask the current owner what schedule he follows.