Sign in to follow this  

06' YZ250F ride assesment

I've had several requests from other members to share an unbiased ride report on this scoot.

I'll lay the groundwork - I'm not an editor by any means, so pardon the grammatical inaccuracies. I have been riding for 18 years and can best be described as a tired out pro - relegated to 'local speed' the past few years. I'm 35, 6'4", 200 lbs. I have better than average mechanic skills. So however you compare, take this for what it's worth. Also, I believe a bike should be broken-in how you're going to ride it - hard as hell. I spent 15 minutes of riding and cooling to seat the rings and off I went - no holding back (this is not a recommendation, just an indication of how I rode when coming to the conclusion below):

Track: Riverfront, Marysville Ca. Slippery mud when wet, intermediate to hardpack when it dries out.

It would be easiest for me to tell you right off the bat what this bike does NOT like; 1. Tight turns that are unusually slippery. 2. Knee braces. There you have it.

It seems, for now, the 06' would be better guided around the wet, sloppy mud turns. At least until the suspension has had a chance to work itself in and the chassis has been given enough time to settle from it's rigid state. The only time I came close to putting the bike on the ground was when I landed into a turn with a section of rediculously slippery mud - the kind you find in practice prior to the 1st motos. I was going at a good click and jumped into the turn, bike already changing direction. Under acceleration, the bike nearly did a helicopter and sent me into a wicked two-wheel slide. The bike is forgiving - VERY forgiving, and allowed me to save it just prior to me wetting my pants. Assesment: Obviously the wrong tire for the conditions and rider error - I should have let the bike brake in a little before pushing it in terrible conditions.