Sign in to follow this  

Diff. between 05 & 06 RMZ

thinking of selling my 05 CRF for an 06 RMZ450. What are the differences between the 05 RMZ and the 06 RMZ besides the graphics......? Any mags do a prelim. test yet??

I'm thinking of doing the same thing. While the Crf is a good bike, I had a chance to ride a 05 rmz, It seemed to turn a lot better, and the power band fit me better also. I'm a 42 yr old Vet, and my 05 crf is a ripper, to the point of being to fast and that takes its toll on a old body. (To many mods, it was better stk) I believe the 06 rmz is basically a refined version of the 05, Head, valving ect. How does it compare? We need ride reports !! Thanx, Troy 140

Updates to the 2006 RM-Z450 include the following:

Engine Updates

New cylinder head with redesigned intake port shape for increased low-to-mid-range power

Revised carburetor settings for improved low-to-midrange power

New piston oil-control rings featuring chrome-nitride coating for improved sealing and reduced friction

Revised ignition mapping for increased power output especially at low-to-mid-range rpm

Higher final drive ratio, (49/14 to 48/14), for smoother power delivery control at all rpm

Reshaped shift fork guide pins for more positive feeling gear shifts

Relocated hot-start lever for easier access

Chassis Updates

Reinforced steering head pipe for improved frame rigidity

New swingarm with increased main beam height dimension for improved traction and straight line stability

New front fork and rear shock settings for improved cornering and straight line performance

New rear brake caliper with higher rigidity for increased stopping power and better brake feel

:banghead:

thinking of selling my 05 CRF for an 06 RMZ450. What are the differences between the 05 RMZ and the 06 RMZ besides the graphics......? Any mags do a prelim. test yet??

The biggest differnce that I can think of is it won the 05 AMA National championship in it's first year. NUFF SAID.........