Sign in to follow this  

Removing Baffle - create problems?

Hey Guys,

New here so forgive me if this has been asked before. I've got a new CRF80f for my son and a CRF230f for me. Pulling out the baffles sounds like a great idea - gotta love the sound, but didn't know if this would cause other problems. These bikes are made pretty specific these days and I don't want to end up with burnt valves or something. Am I cool to remove?

Im no expert but I wouldnt worry to much about it. It will be louder and you may need to rejet but generally your bike will run better.

It will be perfectly fine, nothing will go wrong. Might want to pull the snorkels too and re jet. I'd suggest 120 main 45 pilot needle in 4th position for the 230. Ask in the CRF80 forum what to re jet it to.

I'm sure you could be fine since I'm assuming you're just cruising around with your son. The problem that could happen would be you could seize your bike. Honda knew this so they offer a "Power-up kit." It's a rejetting package for your bike. You should get it anyway because your bike was sold "under jetted."

Anyway, that's the only issue you will run into.

what is a baffle and would it hurt your bike if you did not re-jet

WOW!!! :banghead:

the baffle is the piece inside the spark arrestor in your exhaust that helps to keep the noise down. when you take it out it makes the bike louder. you may have to rejet.

Hey AtlantaRider......you sound just like me. I also bought myself a 230 and my son an 80. We now spend more time together and have ALOT of GREAT times.

To answer your question.....I have pulled the baffle out of my 230 and have had no problems. The bike is set up to run lean so, don't fool with the airbox until you re jet the carb! If you do, you're asking for trouble.

I've done some research on both bikes. Drop a message in my inbox if you would like some help.

Thanks for the responses guys. This site is great.