Sign in to follow this  

Kouba links #2

Has any body here experienced the lowering quality of the #2 links? I can't afford a Corbin seat yet, so the cheaper alt.(besides lowering the rear spring) is to get the #2 links. Any body got some info?

I have very little person experience riding a bike with them, just a couple of short rides, but I do have a lot of experience with watching the suspension with them work,,,,or rather not work. They change the leverage ratio which makes the spring behave like it is softer, that in itself would not be a bad thing but I have a theory that it is not a linear change. This throws off the valving a lot, whether it is stock or race tech or whoever's. No one seems to have enough experience with it to give a good starting point on the valving and what works with the stock links does not work with the links.

I would personally say that if you have to have them then get them but if you can get away without them then it is far better to lower your seat either with a gel seat or a stock one cut down.

FWIW, we never did get bronco's to behave like he wanted it to.

Yeah, I think I want to keep the 400 like it is. I've done the yoshi, DJ, airbox mods and I like it the way it is. Only problem is on a technical trail, if I have to come off the pegs, I can get in trouble. My inseam is just barely 32" and I'm almost on my tip toes standing. I'd sure like to get the seat height down to a more saftely, comfortable level. Or at least get more of my feel on the ground.

I have the #2 link on my S and I like it. I think the bike handles better with it.

But I am not an aggressive rider at all. Before I put the link on my bike my riding buddy and I traded bikes back and forth a few times and we both thought his with the link handled better and he is a much more aggressive than I am. Both bikes were 400s both with M21 tires so I think it was an apples to apples test.