Sign in to follow this  

my valves are DONE!! some pictures

Ever wonder what valves look like after going to .00 a couple times and eventually finding there is no longer a shim small enough to get the job done? If this is because I don't clean my air filter often enough how come I've never had to shim the exhaust side. This is from an '03.

valves1.JPG

valves2.JPG

valves3.JPG

I had the same impression. Just the camera lens distortion or the right is bent?

I'm not an expert but comparing them with mine, if those are the intake ones, they have a lot of carbon buildup like on the inner/top section (reverse to comb. chamber to be clear)

Mines were homogeneosly black/gray sooted in the inner side, not irregulars like yours.

To me it looks like something was coming from the intake: air filter oil? too much engine oil vapor recycled?

I'd like to hear an expert opinion......

My '03 valves lasted 2.5 years with diligent maintenance and still looked "clean" when removed (even the piston was "relatively" clean, worn but clean). That crud build up is due to either poor maintenance (air/oil maintenance), crappy oil (possible oil left in "way" too long) or running the bike "way" too rich fuel (or some "strange" fuel or additive).

New is nice though!!!

Don :banghead:

Mine looked simmilar to that. I bought the bike used so I don't know what the habbits were. I would guess that when it gets to zero it is not sealing correctly and lets some combustion through to scorch that fuel on the valve? Did you replace your springs? I just did mine and should have done springs, but didn't think it was that big of a deal since the dumb asses at my shop said, "we don't stock them cause no one replaces them" then I found out different as my new valves are already moving after a few rides.