Sign in to follow this  

Can you balance tires at home?

Hi all,

I'm new to ThumperTalk and just got a DRZ400s to play in the mud with, I'm having a great time. The last bike for the dirt I owned was a 2-stroke yamaha 400 about 25 years ago!

I just put a pair of new tires (perelli MT21) on the 2003 DRZ and at highway speeds the mirrors are a blur. Granted, they are knobby and I don't expect a real smooth ride but I thought if there was a way to balance my tires without taking it into the shop, I've got nothing to loose and it may reduce the vibration. I read this thread (https://thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=225346&parentpage=2&highlight=balance+tire) and it looks like some people do balance them so can anyone enlighten me and explain how?

Thanks,

Alan :banghead:

i know on dunlops there is a yellow dot on the tire, this is the lightest point in that tire, so this is where the rim lock goes to kinda balance, dont know about pirellis but its worth a try

To balance your tires, follow the suggestions in the above thread, i.e. with the wheel off the bike. Put a greased axle through the hub , slightly pull out the bushings from the seals if possible, and place the assembly between two jackstands. The heavy side will rotate to the bottom - - add lead weights to the top side until balanced. Balancing is especially important if single rimlocks are utilized. :banghead:

The MT21s won't make your mirrors blur - mine ride fine at all speeds.

I do roughly balance the wheels - I have one rim lock on each wheel, so I just weigh the rim lock on a digital postal scale and add an equal amount of self-adhesive lead wheel weights at 180 degrees from the lock. I figure that eliminates most of the imbalance - any that remains seems negligible.