Relocating to the Northwest... need advice!

My wife and I are going to be relocating to the Northwest before next summer, somewhere between Eugene, Oregon and Seattle... fact finding trip coming up in a month or so.

Which brings me to this... any suggestions on towns or areas to look at or stay away from? I am a masonry contractor specializing in Stonework ( fireplaces, chimneys, veneers, all phases..) and would like to start my business there and was wondering if any contractors out there have any suggestions?

Also just as important if not more so is the schools, way of life etc.. Looking for a small to medium size town, good riding areas relatively close by. You know, I want it all!

I was living in the mountains of Prescott, AZ where my house bordered the National Forest at 6000 feet for 25 years before we came here to Tucson. I have to admit I do miss being able to put my gear on and walk out to my garage and ride from there to some excellent trails. After 2.5 years I have had enough of the desert. I can't take any more of these 110 degree days!

Anyway, I have family in Eugene, Portland and Seattle, and friends in Tacoma but none of them ride or are in the trades so I need some input if anyone is willing.

Thanks in advance if anyone can offer up any help!

Look into Bend. It's growing like crazy, Semi-small town and a recreation Mecca.

(And it doesn't rain as much there either)

- Ryan

YOU DON'T WANT TO LIVE HERE .IT RAINS ALL THE TIME , GETS WINDY AND SNOWS SOMETIMES...AND THEIR EXPECTING AN EARTHQUAKE SOON.. :applause:

YOU DON'T WANT TO LIVE HERE .IT RAINS ALL THE TIME , GETS WINDY AND SNOWS SOMETIMES...AND THEIR EXPECTING AN EARTHQUAKE SOON.. :applause:

lmao :ride:

Plenty of bricklayers that say they do stone work. Lots of people spending the BIG bucks in the NW so if you're good you would do well anywhere around one of the larger cities. I've been a subcontractor around here for 33 years.