Sign in to follow this  

Wheelies and gearing on DR650

I read a lot about wheelies on the DR650. Can it be done with the stock gearing? I know on mine with stock gearing it would take some clutch abuse. I have done the usual jetting/box/pipe work and the bike seemed to respond well. It feels good thru the full range of throttle and gears, but it will not power the wheel up more than a few inches in 2nd gear. Just wondering if I am short on power or long on respect for the clutch.

I'd say it's about impossible to power wheelie in 2nd gear. Second needs the clutch, first is okay to power.

Comes up in 2nd no clutch on my dynojeted 650 but I have a 14t CS.

I'm sure its doable with stock gearing if you are riding uphill, or a good wheelier!

I'm sure its doable with stock gearing if you are riding uphill, or a good wheelier!

Going to a 14 tooth is like adding 3-4 in the back. That changes everything. I've been wheelieing for 20 years and other than getting the tire to coast 3" in the air without the clutch, not much else is gonna happen. I've thought about going to a 47 in the back to make 3rd gear torque enough to lift the front end.

same here i can wheelie NP in 2nd with just wacking the throttle open. going to a 14thooth front takes 10 minutes to swap out

same here i can wheelie NP in 2nd with just wacking the throttle open. going to a 14thooth front takes 10 minutes to swap out

What's NP??? Also, there is a difference between a power wheelie and a balanced wheelie. I can't figure out how a stocker can go into a full blown balance wheelie in second gear. You must be yanking on the bars and sitting on the rear fender.

no problem=np

when i had the aftermarket pipe and dj kit, mine would come up in second, not much but it would do a low cruise over the deck under hard acceleration.

I have the 14t and the dynojet,160jet plus the pipe and I have to pull to get the wheel up in 1st. I'm at 5600 feet any suggestions?