Sign in to follow this  

starting issues

ive read just about as much as i can handle about the 2002 yz250f. but i still have one problem, I CANT START THE DAMN THING! the previous owner could hop on there and start it first or second kick like i could on my 125. but i can sit there kicking it all day and nver turn it over. is there something i am doing wrong? and yes i am doing the starting procedure correctly with the decomp and everything. thanks

-chris

no no no. the bike runs fine. if i bumpstart it. i just cant KICK start it

Get the cam for sure. It's a no-brainer there....

And keep your right hand in your pocket when kicking. If you have been a 2 stroke guy for life, you are twisting the throttle and don't know it. :applause:

I am new to the yz250f. But I noticed if I slowly bring down the kicker and work a litlle I will get the piston on TDS. It works every time. :applause:

Dude I HAD the same problem yesterday, I could not cold start my 02 if my life depended on it. Once it was warm, not problem. I am telling you to get the 03 exhaust cam mod and you will be the happiest guy alive. This is my first 4-stroke ever and I was kinda nervous about doing it but it was VERY EASY, I actually laughed at myself for being that worried. The 03 cam is the BEST mod you can get/do.

I just put the '03 cam in my sons bike and it's unbelievable. It starts so easy now it's crazy that I didn't do it sooner.

no no no. the bike runs fine. if i bumpstart it. i just cant KICK start it

Hot start plunger is stuck in the carb bore. Remove it, clean it and then put a light coating of grease on it before reinstalling