3x3 Mod Photos?

I'm a TT newbie and I'm sure this thread has been beaten to death, but...

I'm looking for photos and instructions for the 3x3 airbox mod. I've searched the DRZ forum and found a few dead links to photos... but have yet to find anything helpful.

Anybody have photos and/or instructions, or know where I might find them?

Thanks in advance,

hey, its pretty easy,

1. take off seat

2. pull out snorkel in air box

3. enlarge existing hole to 3in by 3in

4. reassemble

.....I'm trying to find the link to share

tip - don't cut too deep as you may cut the rear fender

try the "search" at the top

I was hesitant to do it without photos as well. Ultimately, the idea is to get 9 square inch hole in the top of the airbox. Where you take the plastic out does not matter very much. I ended up cutting a 4 X 2.25 hole near the back end of the airbox, so that the CDI didn't interfere with the airflow.

You're right though, pretty much all the pictures are dead links.

This is a really good pictorial, although the site seems to have dissapeared in the past few days-

http://members.shaw.ca/anethema/djinstall.html

Pictures of 3x3 in My Garage.

The white edging to the 3x3 cut-out is the rough side of a strip of Velcro,

this is to hold a pre-filter in place (no longer in use).

Neil. :thumbsup::bonk::thumbsup:

Neil thanks for the pic, I thought it would look something like that but always helpful to see it.

Karmolis, nice find, this guy was on a full documentary trip, good to know. Thanks

MutualBill, with the larger size's did you have to jet even more? Vice the normal 3X3 jetting that is throughout the forum!

No...I used the recommended jetting for the 3x3 hole and it worked perfectly.

Cool thanks...

Bill where in Missouri are you?

Kansas City...North of the river.

Here are a few pictures of mine if your still looking.

53666212-M.jpg

53666212-M.jpg

I took some detailed pictures of rejeting the carb, if you need it I can post those also.