ruts and tree roots grrrrrrrr..

ok yesterday i went out for a little rainy day riding on my 426 and i went down on like three diferent hills wihle my two friends went right up on thier 250f's i guess i am a b rider. my problem is the ruts and the tree roots get me really crosed up and screw up my momentum and i end up going down. i no i will get beter with more seat time but if u guys have any pointers for me that would be awesome thanks

how big were the roots and ruts. my best pointers for roots is to stay back and on the gas not sure for ruts as im not very good with them

:thumbsup: It's all elementary my dear 426boy :thumbsup: (i've been wanting to use that smily)

before you even start ur run at the hill try and find a line that has neither of them. the ablity to find these lines fast while approaching the hill comes with time, don't worry. However, if you simply can't avoid them, things get tricky.

If we are talking those wetdirt ruts that are really deep and like the width of your tire, once you get in, stay in. Your simply not going to get out. Sorry.

What works for me is get a whole mess of speed up, and hit the hill in second. Still got the power but you also have a bunch of momentum. There is no substitute for momentum. You will learn to love it more then your girlfriend. Saved my a$$ on more then one occasion.

As for those roots. That is were our good friend momentum comes in handy. Basicly, you bounce over them.

On the way up the hill, try to stay on the gas hard. But you want to avoid wheel spin at all costs. wheel spin = no traction = no momentum = bike on ground with you under it. I know, i've been there too.

But really, it is all about experence. You simply don't have the time to think about what you are doing. You just have to do it. Oh, and avoid the really slick mud. Not much better.