2 stroke newbie with ques.

hi im new to owning 2 strokes (i have ridin them before but never had to mix gas or anything other than ride) and im planing on getting a 87 cr500 that i want to rebuild for a little more experience. heres the ad let me know what you guys think. there wasnt a pic im waitin for him to send them. as soon as i get it ill try to post it :thumbsup:

HONDA CR 500 1987

GC, runs gd, new tires incl, no 5th gear, must sell, $900 ***** *****, NY (***) ***-****

its only $900 so its a good deal i think. but since im new i have no clue about fuel ratios break in tecnequics spark plug stuff every thing so if someone can help that would be great. i live in dutchess county which is in lower new york (if it helps) ill need to know the very basics and the more important detail stuff. im going to completely rebuild the engine first so any tips would help. thanks alot i appreciate it. and please excuse my bad spelling

Whats he mean by no 5th gear?? (blown tranny??)

for fuel ratios look in the manual, i mix at 32:1, i just have a measuring cup and add the right amount of oil to the empty jerry can fill it 1/3 shake it then fill the rest up and shake again (easy)

Dont buy that bike. Get something newer and smaller that isnt broken.

I would never buy a bike with no fifth gear, that thing is going downhill fast. Also If you're getting a 500 I would go with a KX, no offense to the CR forum but the kx was a lot more advanced. You can get a decent deal, something thats not broken for $900.

Double the $900.00 and get something decent. No fifth gear might end up costing you a lot more then doubling the $900.00...

if your only experience is on that 200, if you got that monster running it will kill ya. not to mention the grand or better it will cost to fix :thumbsup:

I agree with not buying a 500 unless you have years of experience on a 250 2stroke that is, you will get seriously injured.