Sign in to follow this  

Question about 1997 Honda

Hey Guys,

(I realize this may belong in the Honda 2 stroke forum, but just wanted to get a good response, and good info.)

I have an opportunity to purchase a 97 model Honda CR 250, bike is in awesome shape. No question on the care, or of the mechanics of the bike. Looking to purchase for a nice, peepy trail riding option.

Anyhow, my question is the owner of the bike has always ran "race gas" thru it. Which last time I check is about $8 a gallon. Will this bike run ok, with no ill effects on premuim unlead from the pump.....???

I have no experience on this - please advise.

Thanks in advance.

Most 97-98 CR250s are in good shape, because they were such a rotten jackhammer of a bike that nobody could ride them for long. This is the bike that created the phrase "Honda thud". They are fast though. If the engine was stock, you can run premium pump gas no problem, but you'll have to re-jet for it.

If the bike was jetted for race gas it may need re-jetting for pump to run well. The only other thing I would check is if the bike had port and/or head work done. If so, race gas my be a requirement due to compression ratio and/or to allow the bike to run consistantly with the port timing it has. I ran race gas exclusively after a bad batch of pump ruined my cylinder/complete top end on my 5 ride old 1996 CR250. However, it is expensive. One other recommendation. I am not certain that the 1997 model would be the best for woods (if I understood your intended use correctly). The frame was super rigid (it was the first year for the aluminum frame and Honda was still figuring it out), and the engine had less off the bottom than prior years of that engine family. I ride exclusively mx, and I still sold mine after 5 rides and did not ride the remainder of 1997. It was by far the worst bike I had ever owned, and actually caused me, a life-long honda rider, to switch to Kawis for a few years while Honda sorted it out.