A Noob wonders about Belfair Gravel Pit, Tahuya, Etc....

Hi All :

I have "zero" dirt / off-road experience. I am also new to motorcycling in general, riding since last November. I took the MSF course --no prob -- and I commute to work almost daily, either on the DRZ400, or my '83 Honda 650 Nighthawk. I am 51, have a kid going into college, work for myself (barber) and *cannot* get busted up (or there's no one to pay the bills).

I was at the Belfair (Sand Hill) Gravel Pit today with my new (to me) DRZ400. It was a totally new experience, for sure. I had all my armored stuff on, because, like I said, I don't want to get broken....

I basically tooled around the parking lot -- almost empty on a Monday -- and then went down the "ramp" into the pit, turned around and came back out. I did that a couple more times, but that is about it. I was mostly in first gear, but gassed the bike to get through some loose, large rocks and all that jazz. I didn't focus on the area in front of my tire -- well, most of the time I didn't -- but looked out well ahead, etc. I tried to use what info I have picked up reading about riding in the loose stuff. No dump-er-oos at all... But this area is more challenging than I had in mind. Sorry to be a weenie, but that's the way it is :thumbsup:

My questions are: 1) Are the roads leading back into Tahuya the same as the gravel pit, worse, or easier? and 2) Is the MSF dirt-riding course worth the time?

I just want to be on some fairly unchallenging dirt roads at this point. Am I going to the wrong place? Sorry this is so long. Hope someone with experience out there, and with a bit of sympathy for an old, old beginning rider has some input for me. Thanks in advance

Welcome Dave,