DR250 '99 First gear/ Neutral problems

Hey guys,

Wow my first post and it comes with a question :thumbsup:

I recently bought my first bike, a 1999 DR250 (rx?)

the bikes great, but im a beginner and getting used to everything and still havent racked it!

I have a lot of mates who give me help with it and everything, and when we first started it up, and i took it for a ride, first gear would not select!!!!!!!!!

When you push down through the gears to get to first say like from second, neutral instead gets selected! Then after about 10 taps down you finally get to access first gear (if it dont jump out again :thumbsup: )

Then when its infirst and you lift up to get neutral, it doesnt engage it until you push down gear again! i know how to work the gears, ive riden before (not much but still...) and my mates agreed there was definantly a problem there! So i jumped on my mates dr250 (97 model) and it was perfect!

Would this be a detent spring or a bent shifter or such?

The bikes great. getting used to riding it and overcome my fears is a problem ill get over. scared that im going to give it too much gas and loose control and with ruts i accidentally give it gas, its a laugh but still havent laid it over!!

This forums great too, so much info on one site, ive been reading everything and going and trying it, and today actually gained the courage to pop the wheel over a 2 foot wide log and did it!!!!

Dont mind my name, ive crossed over from cars to atv's to bikes, and my chat name is my personalised number plate. Cars got to expensive, and atvs are too boring, but this definantly takes the cake! i'd be out riding now if my front type didnt pinch from a leaking valve! 1 day to go until im back on the trail again.

Sorry for dribbling on, but im stoked at how much fun it is, you will find me asking numerous questions in the off road teq section later on lol.

Thanks all.

Shawn

Maybe you've already tried this, but anyway...