Sign in to follow this  

My WR feels as it has no compression when kickstarting it after rod replacement.

My wr250 2002 had a breakdown because the oil wasnt getting to the motor.

It started making a "clank" noise.

The mechanic diagnosted a messed up rod, I did notice a lot of play on the rod when he opened up the motor; but i couldnt verify that he indeed changed the rod neither if he used original parts `cause when i arrived the bike was already put back together.

He said he had put a new rod kit (rod, pin, bearing) and tha the rest of the parts were ok but that the valves needed to be worked upon becaquse they were topping out, or something like that, you have to forgive me but im a noob at this.

It worked fine when i left the shop so i took it for a ride to break in the valves, and after the 1 hour medium-easyhard ride on open roads i just couldnt get it started again because the kickstart felt as if it lost its compression feeling really loose.

During the ride i had to kickstart it a few times and it was hard as usual, hard to the point were you cant push it further unless you use the compression lever, but after the ride it was very loose (loose enough to move it by hand).

I bump started it and the guy said that the bike was ok and that it was my fault for not breaking it down correctly.

He fired it up using the kickstart a couple of times, but he had a hell of a time doing so. (Before this problem ocurred it was really easy to start the bike.)

He said that it was impossible for the bike to feel as it did before, but that that didn`t mean that something was wrong; he said as an example that the carb was running richer on fuel because it was better for the break in period and the looser compression kickstart feeling was another thing that changed, but that it didnt mean that the bike was messed up.

He said that if the bike had something messed up it should be my fault cause he gave it to me working ok, which i believe is Bullshit.