Sign in to follow this  

HELP! How/Where can I register a non-Calif DRZ 400SM

Hello all this is my first time posting. I need your help. I recently purchased a DRZ 400 SM off of Ebay and it was shipped here to Bakersfield, CA from Nebraska. I took it to the DMV which they registered the bike then later called me back saying they made a mistake and that the bike didnt have a sticker on the frame signifying that it meets all CA emissions standards. For that they made me strip the license and give it back to them. I want to register my bike in CA so I can ride it but I dont want to modify the engine. DMV even told me that I couldnt modify the engine to pass emissions and get registration. :confused: They also told me I couldnt run it up to 7500 miles so that it would count as a used bike. I'm not sure but I think they red flagged my DMV account so that I cant go to any other DMV and try to get it registered. They also sent me a letter saying I need to remove the bike from the state of CA. I love this bike and feel like I've been totally screwed. :bonk::bonk::thumbsup: I'd be grateful for any help you can give me ...and hope that I can find some loophole in order to register my bike. I'd gladly pay anything to get it registered.

Bryan :thumbsup:

DRZ 400SM 2005 bought used off Ebay 1330 miles now has 3545 miles

Yamaha FZ1 2002 :bonk:

I'm new to TT also and in CA so I have a CA spec '05DR-Z400SM. What I've been able to learn from my short time here is that the CA models have an evaporate emissions control thing that other state bikes don't. There is a hose coming from the tank going down to a junction box above the countershaft area of the motor. Another tube comes from the bottom of the carb (near the fuel mixture screw). Both of these tubes snake back to a 'canister' attached to the frame behind the left number plate.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/MountainDog/P1000017.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/MountainDog/P1000016.jpg