Sign in to follow this  

General Questions on 2000 DRZ400E

I'm relatively new to the 4stroke thing and have some questions I hope you folks could help me out with. I have my eye on a 2000 E for $3500.00. #1 is this a decent price for a bike located in Ga. which looks to be in very good shape? #2 What are some of the things to look for or look out for on the DRZE? #3 How much $ does the kicker ad-on cost and is it a big deal to install,what are the major parts involved?

Thanks,

HoleSaw

Sounds like a good price. See if the person kept a maintenance log. Skid plate is good thing as are radiator guards. Look for bent radiators. They are expensive to replace. The kick start add on is around $200.00. I haven't installed one but have read a few post in this forum about how to. You can search it. Do you have a back up kick starter for your car? The bike can be bump started. Unless your at the bottom of a hill :)

HoleSaw,

Don't be fooled just because the bike looks clean. If the guy is really serious about selling, he should be willing to let you take a good "look over". He should also be able to discuss with you how he maintained the bike while he had it (some anal people like me, keep a running milage list showing oil/filter changes etc.). Try to get a "gut" feel as to if the guy really cared about how he treated the bike.