Sign in to follow this  

Californians; HELP!

I'm really new to dirtbikes, so bear with me. I purchased a DRZ400E in October (my first dirtbike ever) and have had a blast riding it for the past two months. When I bought the bike, I thought (and the dealer told me) that it was a green sticker bike. Guess what I got in the mail from DMV! :)

So now I'm trying to deal with the realization that I won't be allowed to ride my great bike in the summer. My questions are; What do the rest of you red sticker bike owners do during the forbidden season? Are there any off-road riding areas that are open year-round to all bikes? What will happen to me if I'm caught riding off-season? Finally, has anyone ever been cited for a red sticker violation?

I appreciate all the help and insight afforded to me by this forum. Thanks everyone.

Can't help you with what happens if you get caught, but I've read several times on this forum and in talking to my dealer, that if you were told that you'd get a green sticker from your dealer you could take the bike back no matter what. It has been a pretty common occurance, in fact, I was told by another dealer that it was a green sticker also, fortunatly it doesn't matter where I ride in NorCal.

I WOULD DO SOME CHECKING BEFORE I DID ANYTHING ON THAT RED STICKER. YOU MIGHT CHECK ON GETTING IT REGISTERED FOR THE STREET. I HAD GUYS TELL ME THEY REGISTERED BIKE FOR ARIZONA. I AM NOT SURE HOW THEY DID IT. WHEN I BOUGHT MY TAILLIGHT FROM 4 STROKES ONLY THEY HAD INFO ON HOW TO DO THAT. CHECK THEIR WEBSITE OR CALL BAJA DESIGNS. I WOULD DO SOME RESEARCH. I KNOW IT CAN BE DONE.

Carpe,

Aah, how frustrating. That is the reason I had to sacrifice some performance and get an "S" version... I wanted to ride any season anywhere, so I have had to spend some time and money "dirtifying" the S version.