Sign in to follow this  

XR 400 Rebuild 2006

Well I finally finished my 2006 rebuild of my 1998 xr 400. Thought I would share some photos. This is my first attempt at posting I hope it works. Sorry about the size of pictures.

1998 XR400 Before the Tear Down

Rebuild_06_Start.jpg

Rebuild_06_teardown_12.jpg

Back Together with a trial supermoto fender

Rebuild_06_after_1.jpg

Powder Coated

Rebuild_06_powdercoat.jpg

Finished

Rebuild_06_Finished_1.jpg

Rebuild_06_Finished_2.jpg

I had to modify the front fender due to the fact I am running a summers fork brace. I used a 2002 CR250 fender that became pretty flimsy when modified. I came up with this fender brace that works great.

Rebuild_06_Finished_3.jpg

Graphics

Rebuild_06_Finished_6.jpg

Works connection frame gaurds

Rebuild_06_finished_5.jpg

Rebuild_06_finished_4.jpg

One from the back

Rebuild_06_Finished_1.jpg

My little helper

Rebuild_06_finished_9.jpg

Rebuild consisted of replacing all bearings, powder coating the frame, Black Plastics - Polisport rear fender, Acrebis side panels, UFO 2002 CR250 front Fender, Moose Skid plate, Works Connection Frame Gaurds, 45T rear sprocket. Planning on a pumper carb and engine work in the future.

Kevin in the NW

lookin good mate, though that white tank doesnt tickle my fancy.

Did you put a new sprocket on, without a new chain? Cause itll chew your chain up no worries.

Nice. I'm ready to do the same thing. Hope it's not too personal but can i ask how much the project cost?

Na its not to personal however, I will need to sit down and figure it out. I will post it in a day or so. Thanks for looking

Kevin

Nice job. You ever done that before? How did you keep all the nut and bolts organized?

A good way to keep the bolts organized is once you remove the part just thread the bolt back into the hole. That way you know exactly where everything goes.

Looking good, how about the motor ? It looks a bit dirty compared to the rest of the bike :ride::banana: