Sign in to follow this  

what to tell those new to motorcycling?

One of my roommates picked up a Honda Rebel 250 a while ago, and wants me to teach him to ride. Now I've got no problems with that, and in fact rather honored that he wants me to do that. However, I'm not sure that he see's it as anything beyond cheap transportation like his bicycle (he's 23, going to ASU). Now I've been riding for about 15 years, and know full well of the dangers, as well as it could very well be much more expensive to maintain a bike vs. a car.

My concern is how do I convey that motorcycling, especially on the street, is a dangerous activity without making it sound like the apocalypse, and making him scared to death of the road? I used to keep in mind the thought that it's not if I had a bad accident, but rather when. I know that not everyone involved with motorcycling will have a bad crash, but it was the rule of thumb so to speak for years. I'm wondering if it might be better to say something like it carries a high risk, but low probability assuming you pay attention to what's going on around you? Oh and he has zero desire to ride dirt.

So what do you tell newbies?

Find a Motorcycle Safety Foundation class and stick him in it.

Best advice I can give.

There are two kinds of riders,

those who have gone down,

those who are going to go down.

When my friend bought his used motorcycle, he bought the best helmet available. It took me a long time to convince him to buy some gloves. A week later he called me up asking where to buy new gloves. I asked if he lost them, "No, I dumped the bike on the brick crosswalk covered with morning dew. Trashed the gloves, saves his hands. Helmet, eye protection, gloves, boots. If it wants to wear tennis on a bike, I can post a photo of a human foot in a tennis shoe, snapped off at the ankle. Tennis shoes that grip when you put your foot down are dangerous.

Even as a motorcycle rider, I don't see other motorcycles at times.