Sign in to follow this  

06 YZ250F clutch problems.. need info

a bit of foresight...

I am an experienced mechanic.. MMI and HonTech grad

I own my own performance shop.. and race an 03 CRF450, ported, high comp 12.5:1, degreed, revalved susp, etc etc..

here's what happened

customer buys a 06 yz250f, brings it in for their standard mods, boysen pump cover, power now plates, oil change, sag set up, attach holeshot device, true and torque spokes, wire grips, basic race set up.. make sure she's ready to go...

after race weekend, customer complains of clutch slippage, so i clean it completely, re-oil plates, reassemble and step away from the half synth oil and go back to a base stock oil (possible contributor to clutch slippage), readjust everything, test, seems ok, instructed customer to test... seems ok, all good for race weekend...

next call... no clutch, engine noise..

teardown reveals the CLUTCH FIBER PLATES EXPLODED inside the basket and shrapneled everywhere in the motor.... ok, something's amiss... this thing is SEVERELY overheated... to the point the clutch springs lost their tension from the heat... teardown motor, clean completely, amazingly the oil pump is ok, piston/cylinder are perfect, cams show no sign of any metal anywhere.... so the oil screen and the filter did their job... reassemble with a high-comp piston and hotcams(they requested), hinson clutch components and a barnett carbon fiber clutch, steel plates and new springs.. i advise customer to change oil OFTEN.. after every race day, and after every other practice ride..