Sign in to follow this  

New rider - which bike

I am new to this. Have ridden a few times. I want to get a bike for me and later my 2 boys. I mainly want to trail ride. I am not interested in racing or anything. I have been considering XR 250, TTR250, CRF230, and TTR-230. I am about 6 foot and 165. I feel more comfortable on the smaller 230s just because my feet get a better grip on the ground. Will I regret going smaller or is this a good idea for a beginner. Any suggestions?

You will seriously regret a smaller bike. The 230's are really bikes for women and teenagers.

The xr250 and ttr250 are great bikes. They are full sized and will help keep your feet high off of the ground where it will be safe. ON a trail, the higher the better. Having both feet on the ground is only for people who are just starting. It won't last past a couple of really good rides.

Get either one of these, they are great. Get it used so you can sell it in a year or so. You will know much more about your particular riding style and taste then. Do not get locked into any "payments" that will stop you from changing bikes in a year.

I have to dissagree. especiialy about them being for "women and teenagers"

the CRF230 is a great bike. and i think it is what you should get.

the height thing may be a small issue, but a taller seat foam fixes that. and since hes just starting, the trails he will be riding wont require monster ground clearance.

i say get the CRF230 and learn your ways. if needed, get a taller seat foam.

but stay on the 230 for a good 9-10 months. learn how you ride. its an individual thing. get good on that 230, pass it on to your kids, and then if you wanted to, or think you need to, get a bike like a CRF250X.

the 230 has good power for its size, and with its 6th gear it has top speed as well. you can gear it lower if oyu would like.

with a few mods it has some punch to it that will teach you throttle contorl in tight stuff, and get you ready for a bigger bike.