Sign in to follow this  

Newbee getting 2 450's any problems help

I am getting 2 CRF450R's Thursday 2006 & 2007 :thumbsup::ride: . My Yamaha had a hub blow Saturday (450) & my YZ250f had the recall for valves breaking (already done). I posted it on the Yamaha section and people started saying Honda's have poor clutch's, valves, Rod breaking ect. Is this true? Are they just haters? I am 36 and race VET district 7 motocross and almost got the Honda's but *&@^ed up and got the YZF's first. I understand bikes break (I started riding in 1979) I understand somethings are going to happen, but if anybody can help tell me how to set up my 450's that would be great. By the way the YZF's had to have front tire, handle bars, jetting, triple calmps so they are not great out of the box.

Chain, sprockets, front tire and change the oil every every 2 rides. Oh, clean the air filter after every ride.

Welcome to the club. After you really get them post pictures and we will teach you the secret handshake :thumbsup:

I've owned 2 CRFs and no problems. Been riding them for the last 4 years once or twice a week.

Just get the bike and ride the damn thing... they don't "need" anything except someone to maintain them properly. I think your first mod should be a mechanic since your repair skills seem to be lacking.

grease all the basic stuff you would on any bike, new oring chain check width may need the fastway spacer behind front sprocket , loctite front sprocket bolt & kickstarter bolt, like mentioned before clean air filter and chain oil both sides often, be careful and just snug oil and tranny bolt, flatland or devol radiator braces, my 03 fell off the trailer 2 hrs after i bought it and took out my right side radiator, don't use cheep tie downs lesson i learned. ride ,ride smile