Sign in to follow this  

new Ktm

hey im new to KTM im tradin in yellow for the orange beast and was wondering wot is the best thing to do right after you get them :thumbsup:

Just make sure you check all the nuts and bolts, make sure the air filter is oiled and secured, then make sure you break it in properly. If it is a RFS, make sure you do several heat cycles, I did 5 or 6. Let it get warmed up, then let it cool down, that is one heat cycle. After 5 or 6, do an oil change, then go ride. After 3 or 4 hours, check the valves, which are UBER easy to do. Dave Hopkins can tell you his method, which is really simple. There are no valve shims or anything, just some adjuster bolts, so doing your valves takes as long as it takes you to take off the seat, tank, and if you have big hands, your radiators. Other than valves and oil, ride! Make sure the 2 oil screens are kept clean, and you change oil filters every 15 hours. Good to go!!

Breaks in the engine. Bottom end, top end, valves. It is not the amount of time that is important in breaking in a engine, it is the amount of times it gets hot and cools down. It should let all the bearings and rings, seals, all that stuff get properly seated and cured and hard to expalin... but heat cycles are what is important. My dad used to own and race a professional car racing team... 24 hours of daytona, 12 hours of sebring... and for breaking in an engine, heat cycles were important.

when i broke in my kx i didn't do any of that and i haven't had any problems what so ever.........

mabey its just for bigger bikes