Sign in to follow this  

Stainless Steel Oil Filters

Do stainless steel filters do as good a job as the pleated paper type? What's the best method for cleaning the SS filters? :thumbsup:

The SS ones are like $100. I can buy an awful lot of cheap ones $100.

The SS ones are like $100. I can buy an awful lot of cheap ones $100.

Umm, more like $60

Here

A good paper filter is $3.50 or more so about 17 filters.. .. Yes it is cheaper in the long run..Plus it's about availability... Have an SS filter,means never need to order another filter.

A quick search online found SS filters as low as:

CRT Performance Reusable Oil Filter

Fits: 2005, SUZUKI, DR-Z 400E

Our price: $39.99

Part# CRT000SK

Bronco good point about availability and never needing to order again. :thumbsup:

How exactly do you clean a SS filter and is it obvious when it's totally cleaned? I've never used one before. They do seem the most cost effective, as long as they clean the oil as well or better than the paper type.

Some use carb or brake cleaner(use the spray tube to spray from inside out). I use dish soap and hot water(it's S.S. after all), again running the water from inside out. The hot filter drys in about a min.

An ultrasonic sink works the best. Quite like an oil thread whether or not they filter well enough though. You will have to do a lot of research and then....??

Change your oil often with them they do a crappy job of filtering both total area wise not nearly the flow area of a paper. They do not filter well small particle size <35 microns. That is the flip side.

I run my oil for longer than some here and an SS filter is unacceptable for me. Paper rules!

Ah yes,, An oil filter thread.. Filled with as much information, and misinformation as an oil thread.