Sign in to follow this  

1998 KX 250 Top End Rebuild

I finally got fed up with my bike smoking like a freight train along with its lack of power, so I tore into the motor yesterday. The motor has supposedly been bored 40 over by a previous owner, and it looks like the cylinder has been re-sleeved. I have no experience whatsoever with two-strokes, so maybe some people can help me out? Why would the cylinder have been re-sleeved if the bike was bored over? Is that done to get it back to stock cylinder diameter? The exhaust valves were extremely gummed up also.

I'm wanting to run a setup that will give the bike more than enough power for woods riding and some steep hill climbing (I don't want to be bogging down when I'm almost at the top of a hill). I also would like a setup that is reliable when cranking. I want the bike to crank consistently on cold and hot start ups.

So, what machine work should I have done to the cylinder, and what type of piston and rings should I go with? Are there other things I should do while I have the engine torn down?

I finally got fed up with my bike smoking like a freight train along with its lack of power, so I tore into the motor yesterday. The motor has supposedly been bored 40 over by a previous owner, and it looks like the cylinder has been re-sleeved. I have no experience whatsoever with two-strokes, so maybe some people can help me out? Why would the cylinder have been re-sleeved if the bike was bored over? Is that done to get it back to stock cylinder diameter? The exhaust valves were extremely gummed up also.

I'm wanting to run a setup that will give the bike more than enough power for woods riding and some steep hill climbing (I don't want to be bogging down when I'm almost at the top of a hill). I also would like a setup that is reliable when cranking. I want the bike to crank consistently on cold and hot start ups.